Circumstantial signs of God’s guiding hand

I recently recalled to some close friends some of the extraordinary things that have happened during my life.  In retrospect I am immensely grateful for God’s guiding hand during times when I never knew Him. 

In week 6 of the ALPHA course the topic covered is  – “How does God Guide us”?  The section on “Circumstantial Signs of God’s Guiding Hand” triggered an avalanche of memories.  How true written 2000 years ago John 6:44 “No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them, and I will raise them up at the last day”. 

I feel really blessed I did not have to wait to that  “last day” to receive my call.  I now understand Jesus didn’t live on earth just to prove He is God. He came to give us eternal life, to offer us forgiveness and freedom from sin and guilt, to give us a full and meaningful life. It’s because Jesus is God that He can provide forgiveness from sin and enable us to live abundantly.

I was reminded today in my early morning devotional reading of 1 Samuel 7:12

Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Jeshanah, and named it Ebenezer; for he said, “Thus far the LORD has helped us.” So the Philistines were subdued and did not again enter the territory of Israel; the hand of the LORD was against the Philistines all the days of Samuel. The Ebenezer was a stone commemorating God’s intervention in very difficult circumstances.  Samuel set it there to be a reminder to him of the presence of God.

I have been blessed with many Ebenezers without even knowing it.  When I look back over the years, it is absolutely incomprehensible to imagine where I would be if the Lord had not been there to bring me through those difficult circumstances.  Yes I constantly need an Ebenezer so that when I’m thinking life is way too difficult and I just won’t make it, I can turn around and look….a rock to remind me of God’s love and care.  Thus far the Lord has helped me; has guided each of my cross-roads so why should I think He has reached a point where He isn’t going to be there any longer.

I give thanks to God and commemorate the wonderful Ebenezers that He has given me during my life.

Leave a Reply

